PURPLE CORAL PEA (Hardenbergia violacea)

This week I noticed that the Purple Coral Pea is in bloom.

I had already spotted several low-growing bushes opposite my apartment block, but the local council has planted it in various locations between new apartment blocks at the top of my laneway’s steep hill.

I bent over and fired off a few shots on the walk home from the local chemist/pharmacy on Monday.   As the bright sunlight was too harsh, I put my body between the flowers and the sun to create a shadow and the flowers showed up much better.  I only had my Sony ‘mirrorless’ with the 55-210 lens in my shopping bag, but I’ll try and go back with my Canon DSLR and my new(ish) 17-50mm f2.8 lens which will take a much closer and better shot.  I love that DSLR lens, but when I’m in a hurry, I usually grab my lightweight Sony ‘mirrorless’ a6000 on the way out the front door, not a heavy DSLR.

This lovely pea is a vigorous climber growing up to 20 feet so Wikipedia says, but I’ve only seen it growing low on the ground to about 20 inches high.

Wikipedia also says……

Hardenbergia violacea syn. H. monophylla is a species of flowering plant in the pea family Fabaceae, native to Australia from Queensland to Tasmania.[1] It is known in Australia by the common names false sarsaparilla, purple coral pea, happy wanderer, native lilac and waraburra (which comes from the Kattang language).[2] Elsewhere it is also called vine lilac[3] or lilac vine.

It also comes in white, pink and other colours.

 

11 thoughts on “PURPLE CORAL PEA (Hardenbergia violacea)

    1. The colour is amazing Peggy and this morning as I sit at my desk I can see another 5-6 plants turning colour on the opposite side of my road. If it wasn’t on such a near vertical slope, I’d be able to photograph it right here in my road. Of course I wasn’t living here this time last year so didn’t know it was there before it flowered this week.. I notice the winter wattle is in bloom in the Nature Reserve too. How pretty it looked walking home on Monday. Well worth a photo.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your “purple coral pea” reminds me of my “white bluebell” — names with colors in them can turn amusing pretty quickly. I do love the pea family. We have some nice ones here, including a deer pea vetch that’s a pretty lavender, and a couple of yellow ones that are nice. This color is fabulous — so rich and deep.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.