INSECTS

From the archives……..again!  (I’m not doing much new photography at the moment).

I rarely photograph insects, partly because I don’t see them (being short-sighted and only having distance glasses) and partly because I’m so intent on birds or other larger subjects, I don’t look for them (insects).  There’s certainly more than one image in my library where I was photographing a flower and didn’t even notice there was an insect on the flower until I downloaded the day’s shooting on to my large 27″ screen  🙂

It’s always fun to review them though.  Most of the butterflies were shot in the Butterfly House at Melbourne Zoo in or around 2012.

The last image has an interesting story behind it.

It was made with my little Canon Point & Shoot in the early days of my Photography hobby in 2010.  At the time, I thought it was rather good and submitted it to iStock Photos to see if they would take me on as a stock photographer, but of course in my naïvety, I didn’t realise how good you’ve have to be to be a stock photographer and I was rejected.  Also they had too many flower images and that was my main subject in 2010.

The interesting fact was that I found another photo with the same insect and flower with almost the same composition on iStock Photos made by a Swedish(?) photographer.  Now what are the odds of someone on the other side of the world shooting almost the same composition, insect & flower.   I’ve seen many images made by different photographers in landscapes etc, but a subject this small………..amazing.

13 thoughts on “INSECTS

    1. To be honest, I don’t remember taking that cricket shot, John. I do believe you should be able to do just as well with your new camera. If you can, try and keep your camera very still when you press the shutter button and you should get good focus for an insect shot. Aim for the insect’s eye (as you would a bird shot). February in the Royal Botanic Gardens is about the best time for dragonflies and damselflies.

      Like

    1. That was one of the very first images I took of insects and it was years before I realised there were male and female on the Japanese Oralia plant (as shown by the pattern on their backs).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These are terrific photos! Isn’t it great when you take a photo of a beautiful flower and then see that there is a bonus that came along with it! I especially love the first photo: your focus on the insect gave the perfect soft focus to the blossom!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Terry. I’m not sure I even saw the insect when I took the photo. I think I was just putting the focus on the centre of the flower.
      (I’m missing those great photo opportunities in the Royal Botanic Gardens and Melbourne Zoo in the last couple of years).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These all are great. My first insect shots were accidental. I never saw the creatures until I came home and looked at the flowers on the computer. After I realized how many insects were in and around the plants, I started looking for them. I’d never heard the tip about shooting for the eye, so to speak. That makes sense. Maybe it will help me get clearer shots.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always shoot for the eye in bird, animal or the (rare) insect shot. If the eye (or head) is in focus no one ever notices the soft focus on the rest of the body (depending on your DOF of course). Sometimes if I can’t see a whole bird located in the shade or high up in a tree, I just aim for the head (where I think the eye might be). Sometimes I get lucky. Am just about to go outdoors for a walk in the sun, so will try to remember to post a few more bird shots when I come back later this afternoon.
      PS I get good focus and bad focus. If my shared images are a bit soft, you know I’ve been breathing heavily from a long walk and can’t hold the camera still 🙂 (more than bad camera settings per se).

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.