LAST LIGHT

The last rays of daylight touch the tips of the Rosemary plant on my apartment balcony.

Since I made this photo 3 days ago, several more branches of the plant are coming into flower.

So strange to see the flowers in mid-winter.  But since my pink daisy and blue Bacopa are still covered with flowers, one can only assume there must be some heat generating from the floor-to-ceiling glass windows in my apartment to create some sort of micro-climate?  The Sage, Lemon Thyme and Oregano have all died back for the winter as normal, but my English & Italian Parsley, Mint and Rosemary are still growing as though it is Spring.  I was reading an article the other day which suggested that Australia actually has 6 seasons and we’d be better off planning our gardens that way.  Personally, I think Melbourne has 365 seasons and the weather bureau forecast still can’t get their daily/weekly forecast right 🙂

Have been off the blogosphere and blog reading for several days this past week as I’m feeling all ‘blogged-out’ and except for half a dozen photos made of the sun going down, my camera is starting to gather dust again!

Still, I did read a whole book in that time which is most unusual for me as I find the eyestrain tiring and reading difficult these days.

 

17 Comments on “LAST LIGHT

  1. Your plant’s pretty, but I really like the sky views. As for the blooming plants, there’s no question that there are microclimates. The presence of concrete, the direction a plant faces, a bit of shelter from the wind — all of it makes a difference. I can make it through a freeze here much more easily than a friend who’s only blocks away, because I’m right on the water. There can be as much as five degrees difference between us, and that can be enough to prevent freezing if it’s a close call.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Melbourne’s weather never ceases to amaze me.

      Check out this post on my Sunrise/Sunset blog https://vickialfordblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/26th-july-2015-storm-winter/

      I had my camera on a tripod in front of my lounge floor-to-ceiling window and with the same camera settings, took a photo every 5 minutes over an hour. I could see the storm was coming so I figured it might be an interesting photography exercise. It changed from clear to nearly as black as night and then, clear again. In fact, if you go to the Home page and quickly scroll through the images, you’ll get a better feel for how much our sky changes over the seasons.

      That blog is mainly just sky (and/or) cloud images around dusk each night. Pretty much the same scene over the rooftops looking south or to the east of my balcony if I leant over the rail and looked to the sunrise (occasionally, as I don’t get up that early). I think the Doves used to wake me with their cooing as I never wake up at sunrise in my current west facing apartment.

      I can well appreciate how your water-side location is totally different to inland a few blocks away 🙂

      Like

    • I couldn’t miss it Peggy. Over the last couple of weeks the brilliant sun reflecting off the clouds gets reflected off my south-western small lounge window and hits me right in the eyes as I sit at my desk. It’s like a tv studio spotlight. I usually have to pull down the block-out blind even though its not dark. The main lounge floor-to-ceiling window faces closer to west, but my desk chair is placed so the building blocks the sun. Since I use this desk chair for watching tv also, I always know when the sun is setting. Interesting facet of this apartment. The sunrise is on the other side of the apartment building and I never see it. The tv weather forecast looked freezing up in Canberra the other day. Was it -3 degrees overnight?

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was worse than -3° on Friday night. Got down to -7°. Had to laugh at your comment about a ‘tv studio spotlight’. That’s better than ‘the Spanish inquisition’. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to laugh about your comment on the weather bureau’s forecasts. I think that all weather bureau forecasters are trained in one place so that their forecasts can be wrong in every corner of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I look at the day/week’s weather forecast every morning when I log on to the computer, Terry. Yesterday was very windy, cold and supposed to hail, but I saw little rain and certainly no hail. I could have gone outdoors after all.

      Supposed to rain and thunderstorm this afternoon but I need to go to the hardware shop and you can bet the forecast will be right for a change and I get caught in a storm 🙂 Just re-logged on to the computer to check the rain radar and there’s definitely some heavy rain coming from the west, but, will I get to the shop and back before it hits is a 50/50 chance I suppose 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. re forecasts. If you watch ABC TV (which comes from Sydney) in the mornings you often get such things as “..and in Melbourne it is overcast and raining..) but take a look outside and the sun in shining in clear skies. Love the photos – as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks John. I definitely know my friends in Sandringham, Father in Croydon and myself in the western suburbs get completely different weather. I used to see very black clouds down your way from my Abbotsford 3rd floor apartment, but I never got those storms myself.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your good wishes, but I am extremely short-sighted and only have ‘distance’ glasses as my ‘reading’ glasses kept breaking at the hinge and weren’t satisfactory anyway. My astigmatism is not fully corrected by my prescription spectacles so it means I always have to shoot on AF in my photography. The only way I can get anywhere near manual focus on my cameras is to twirl the focus ring and listen for the ‘ping’ when the subject I’m focusing on is in focus. I can no longer read much (including the writing blogs I used to follow) as I get dizzy scrolling on the computer. These are symptoms from having Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (just as much as Myopia & Astigmatism). It’s a little bit like having vertigo 24/7 some days.

      As to reading, I wore contact lenses (and then bi-focal contact lenses) for 40 years and then got severe headaches and a dry eye condition and had to revert to thick spectacles full-time in 2010 when I had to take early retirement as I could no longer work. And while I can’t see perfectly any more and am considered ‘blind’ without glasses, I have learned to guess and compensate when it comes to photography. I tend to stay on flat paths as I am prone to tripping due to nerve damage from spinal surgery. I can’t judge distance very well either. Now having said all that, If my hands don’t shake from breathlessness after a long walk or fatigue, and I managee to hold the camera very still, I can take a pretty good hand-held shot. Sometimes I manage to take really good photos.

      With reading, it depends on the font size and the distance between each line in a book. I also need paragraphs to be fairly short and the subject matter of the book really interesting. I got rid of over 400 books about 3 years ago and now only have about 7-8 fiction books and about 250 non-fiction books on my book shelves. I watch a lot of nature dvds (as opposed to reading). I used to read 7-8 books a week many years ago, now, it can sometimes take a month to read one small book. Photography is my favourite pastime as I can just hold the camera, focus (or change the focal points) and press the shutter button 🙂 I only do a few basic tweaks in photo editing.

      Like

      • Sorry to hear about all your medical problems. They cannot be easy to deal with, even though you seem to have figured out how to. Your photographs area amazing, especially considering your challenges.
        It must have been hard to get rid of most of your books. Do you enjoy audio books? That would add another way to “read”.
        Best wishes, Tanja

        Liked by 1 person

    • My books were my best friends, but I finally decided it was pointless taking up so much room when I could read so little these days. I would fall asleep with audio books but thanks for the suggestion. I am extremely lucky having travelled a lot in my youth and being extremely good at thinking ‘outside the box’. I try to concentrate on what I CAN do (not on what I can’t). Can no longer bend, twist & turn as much as I’d like to photograph nature low down and can no longer see well enough to paint (watercolours) or do craft work. I just checked out your own blog and enjoyed a quick look at some of your own lovely nature images. You’re a great writer also, but a little too much for me to read in the short time I allocate to blog reading. Still, I shall very much enjoy your photography in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pete. We’re getting some brilliant light at dusk these days, but not necessarily the beautiful sunset colours we get in Autumn.

      Liked by 1 person

