SULPHUR-CRESTED COCKATOO (Cacatua galerita)

From the archives……..19th October 2012

This series comes to you from the Dandenong Ranges National Park – the range of hills overlooking the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.  I have seen these Cockatoos in the Royal Botanic Gardens and down by the Yarra River also (running by the southern side of Melbourne city out into Port Phillip Bay) but they were always too far away to get a good shot.

They’re found on the northern, eastern and south-eastern areas of Australia and very common.  Their white feathers make them easy to spot high up in the trees.  One day I found a couple grazing on some grass seed about 4 feet away from my walking path along the Yarra River, but I didn’t have a camera at that time and they flew away quickly on sensing my presence.

6 thoughts on “SULPHUR-CRESTED COCKATOO (Cacatua galerita)

    1. The Royal Botanic Gardens used to be one of the best places to photograph birds, but when they did the wetlands project about 6 years ago, the noise of the bulldozers etc seem to scare some species off for good. (and of course one of the main gates being only 5 minutes from my front door at the time made it a regular walking location).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have a friend who has one of these as a pet. She’s had him for years — his name is Syd. I’ve never thought about it, but that might be short for Syndey, as in Australia. I got quite close to another one who was a pet. In fact, I got so close I still carry a scar on the back of my right hand. Apparently that one was determined to prove wrong his owners’ contention that he was the sweetest, most gentle bird in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.