SATIN BOWERBIRD (Ptilonorhynchus violaceus) – female

From the archives…..

In all the years I visited Melbourne Zoo’s Great Aviary, I never managed to get a decent shot of the male Satin Bowerbird.  The 2 or 3 shots I did take were too soft in focus to be worthy of sharing and I deleted them only recently.  The male is a rich glossy blue-black all over.

But the female……..well, I did score a couple of nice shots of that and in both images the eye is a gorgeous blue/purple not unlike the feather colour of the male  (although my Australian Bird Guide book doesn’t mention this characteristic, so maybe it was the light on the day that gave the eye this colour).  It’s a fairly common bird on the south-east coast of Australia, but I’ve only seen it at the Zoo.

Satin Bowerbird – female (Ptilonorhynchus violaceus)
Satin Bowerbird – female
6 thoughts on “SATIN BOWERBIRD (Ptilonorhynchus violaceus) – female

    1. Thanks Terry.
      I think that first image in this post was the first ‘good’ photo I took (where I got the bird’s eye in focus).

      Seeing birds up close at the zoo (when you can fill the frame), gives you a better understanding of how frustrating it is to not be able to photograph birds up close in the wild.

      Just looking at Google Maps to see if I can get to another wetlands area to the south. I love finding new locations. I think best thing to do is just get on the bus at the top of the hill and see where it goes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.