MAJOR MITCHELL’S COCKATOO (Cacatua leadbeateri)

From the archives……

I love the soft pink colour of the Major Mitchell’s Cockatoo and when it splays out all its crest feathers it is very handsome indeed (according to the image in my Australian Bird Guide).  I’ve never seen it fan out its crest feathers myself though.

In Melbourne Zoo’s Great Aviary, this cockatoo is very friendly with the Eclectus Parrots (bright green male & red/blue female), so much so, that one of my images of the M/M Cockatoo ‘talking’ to the female Eclectus Parrot scored the back page of the March 2012 Zoo News magazine.  I felt very flattered as I’d only been photographing birds at the zoo for a few months or so at the time – (for some strange reason the editor reversed the image).

pink Major Mitchell’s Cockatoo & male Eclectus Parrot

Major Mitchell’s Cockatoo and female Eclectus Parrot

I used to watch this Cockatoo and the Eclectus parrots for ages as they really do appear to be talking, or communicating, with each other.

NOTE: Today the weather forecast was for 90% rain and possible hail so I’m catching up with blogging and blog reading.  It’s past midday and all I’ve seen is blue sky and sunshine (with some rather brisk wind blowing my balcony plants) so far.  Where’s the rain & hail that made my planned ‘at home’ day I ask myself?

9 Comments on “MAJOR MITCHELL’S COCKATOO (Cacatua leadbeateri)

    • This pink cockatoo lives in more drier central Australia, so I doubt you’ll see it when you visit northern Australia in 2018, but you will see some Sulphur Crested Cockatoos up north.

      Like

  1. Beautiful soft colors on the cockatoo. It does look as if the birds are having a chat: perhaps they are!
    The rain and hail sounds good: we could use some of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Birds have got me quite fascinated with their behaviour (since I’ve been photographing them).
      The rain and hail has not appeared…..yet 🙂 and its 1.30pm and half the day’s gone. We badly need some good rain as there’s been mostly light rain so far this winter. This does not bode well for next Summer’s bushfire potential. And yet my balcony tiles are wet each morning so maybe the rain is mostly overnight?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

