THEN THERE ARE THE GREBES………..

I don’t often see Grebes and if I do, they’re always in the middle of a lake or river.  I’m wondering if their food source is in deeper water?

They dive often, but I managed to get a couple of good shots of the Australasian Grebe (Tachybaptus novaehollandiae)  in Frogs Hollow last October (just after I moved to Maribyrnong).  The reddish-brown neck is the colour of a breeding grebe.  This species is the smallest and dumpiest of the grebes found in Australia.

But the day I walked all the way down to Newells Paddock Nature Reserve (about 3.7kms) nearly 3 weeks ago, I saw about 7-8 Hoary-headed Grebes (Poliocephalus poliocephalus) along the river….mainly in the centre.

To be honest, I wouldn’t have recognised them as they were too far away, but an elderly man sitting on a bench told me what they were.

And the image below was cropped down to about 10% of its original size in an attempt to see it a bit closer up.  This particular Hoary-headed Grebe was in the middle of the river.

So while I take many bird photos on my walks, it is rare that they’re close enough to fill the frame and share online these days.  The White-faced Heron, Willy Wagtails and the various Cormorants are the exceptions I guess.

A neighbour told me she’d seen an owl on her balcony very early one morning, so perhaps I need to get up earlier 😳

3 Comments on “THEN THERE ARE THE GREBES………..

  1. Your hoary-headed grebe looks very similar to our pied-billed. It’s a plain-ish bird, too, although it really is cute as the dickens. I think they’re among my favorites, partly because they’re so cute, and partly because they seem so dignified.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the first photo. Both the bird and the water are great! I have rarely been able to get a decent waterfowl shot, but I can get right up close to deer and big horn sheep and once in awhile elk.

    Liked by 1 person

