RED-RUMPED PARROT (Psephotus haematonotus)

Here’s some more examples of the small birds that graze in the low-lying Frogs Hollow field.

So you can see them better, here’s some images I made when I was living on the north-east side of Melbourne next to the Yarra River.

The lovely males are easy to spot.
The plain females are not so easy to see as they blend in with the grass. Since they always seem to graze in pairs, it’s the males that I spot first.
This image of a female is probably the best shot I’ve made so far.
4 thoughts on “RED-RUMPED PARROT (Psephotus haematonotus)

    1. Isn’t it good to get really close to the birds (as in the last image in this post).
      I feel as though I’ve been pretty much too far away for most of the last couple of year’s bird photography.

      Like

    1. I have to admit that last one was a really good shot (for me).
      I’ve deleted many of the old bird shots hoping to get better replacements, but not much happening at the bird scene at the moment. Too cold.

      Like

Comments are closed.