IT’S ALL IN THE FRAMING……..

A friend said to me once, “where do you find all these nature reserves and natural bushland areas in the suburbs?”

I replied “it’s not just what you see in the image that makes these photos look like you’re out in the country.  It’s the details you leave out.  It’s about looking up maps and finding all the marked green belts or public parks, then going there and walking around the area.”

Driving in a car in the suburbs is usually about getting to your destination.

Walking around gives you the opportunity to really see  the natural elements along the way.

This portrait sized shot could be anywhere in the countryside.

I’m always looking for birds to photograph, but I’m also looking for my slice of nature (since I don’t have a car to drive to the country or mountains to enjoy the peace and tranquility).

But add in the road, houses and the bus stop into the frame and you realise you’re just in the inner western suburbs of Melbourne.

Living in Nature is all about what you can see and do outdoors, despite living in a town or city.

Living in Nature is not just about looking in any direction in a suburban setting.  It’s about seeing the individual details within your urban environment and taking time to hone in on the flora and fauna as individual subjects.  Being in nature can be easier than you think.  Even a weed or native grass species on a vacant suburban house plot has visual interest (if you open your eyes and really look at the small details).

7 thoughts on “IT’S ALL IN THE FRAMING……..

  1. You are so right. There is an abundance of parks both large and tiny. Is is really easy if you look and it is definitely true that you have to avoid looking at (and photographing) the urban encroachment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll bet you saw more on that 10km walk along the Yarra the other week, than driving down the coastal road when you need to watch the traffic.

      Like

    2. 😳
      That’s why I live a solitary life now I’m officially a Photographer. I can’t talk and walk (or take photos). I can’t even cook and talk to my (rare) dinner/lunch visitors. I need solitary time and space to walk around exploring. I like to stop and examine the most ordinary sort of weed or flower. No wonder I have so many falls. I never watch where I’m going. I’m too busy looking up, down and all around.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that it’s wonderful to have all of those parks and areas of natural environment so close to such a large city! And you are certainly right about walking instead of driving to see what’s there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Except that I’d love to have a car to take overseas followers like yourself to our fantastic beaches and mountains via my photography blog. I wish I could afford to visit some places intestate I’ve visited in the past. and just know you’d love the scenery. Trouble is that Australia, in general, is very expensive to travel in (when you have a bad back and pain and need a decent bed & proximity to medical facilities for emergencies). I’d love to revisit King island between my state and the island state of Tasmania to the south. They have 2 large nature reserves and I seem to remember massive cliffs and long deserted beaches which would be good for landscape photography now I’ve got a good camera.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know what you mean. My entertainment budget all goes for gasoline so I can get into the forests and mountain trails, and most of those trips are relatively short ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.