LITTLE PIED CORMORANT (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos) – Maribyrnong River

I’ve never been able to tell the difference between a Little Pied Cormorant (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos) and a Pied Cormorant (Phalacrocorax varius) as I’ve never seen them together to observe that the Little Pied Cormorant is a fair bit smaller.  A bird watcher on last Friday’s walk gave me the clue. A Pied Cormorant’s beak is hooked at the tip. Apparently they’re both seen along this river, together with the Little Black Cormorant and the Great Cormorant (also black, but larger).  The image above is definitely the Little Pied Cormorant.

I saw the Pied Cormorant on a rock near the bank of the river approximately here (just before I go under the bridge to reach Newell’s Paddock Wetlands and Nature Reserve)

I don’t why these Cormorants try to hide from me, because my ‘distance’ glasses, which I use all the time now, give me excellent vision for spotting birds at a long distance. It’s close-up that I have a problem. Note: my reading glasses which were pretty useless anyway, kept breaking at the hinge of the side frame.  After the 4th time (and the 4th lot of $70 to fix them), I gave up.  Wish I could still wear my old multi-focal contact lenses – they would have been perfect for photography. 

 

10 Comments on “LITTLE PIED CORMORANT (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos) – Maribyrnong River

  1. Great captures of the Little Pied Cormorant, Vicki. I was not aware of the difference, now I know what to look out for next. Warm greetings to you from the Rhine valley, Dina x

    Like

  2. The addition of white feathers makes yours more appealing to me, just in terms of appearance. Our solid black ones aren’t quite as photogenic, although they’re just as interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find all cormorants interesting. I think it comes from a children’s story I read when very young and would you believe, even with my poor short-term memory, I can picture the book illustrations to this day.

      Like

