NANKEEN NIGHT HERON (Nycticorax caledonicus) – 8th June, 2013

Surfing through my archives makes me think I took my best bird photos in 2013.

Is it because I could get up closer to the bird life in the Royal Botanic Gardens and Melbourne Zoo?

I think some of my best bird shots were of the Nankeen Night Heron.

It’s still my favourite Australian bird.

I remember the day in the Botanic Gardens when I first saw it and thought I’d captured a shot of a rare bird.  Of course as time went by, I realised it was as common as mud in the Botanic Gardens.  You just had to pick the right time of day, season and location……..and it did help to use a tripod as they were mainly on the islands in the middle of the large Ornamental Lake.

The shots in this post were made at Melbourne Zoo and I used the wooden post of the viewing platform as a tripod.  They were not caged or in the large Aviary.  They lived on the enormous island in the middle of an area I used to call Pelican’s ‘Lagoon’ (as that was where the Australian Pelicans and Cormorants used to gather to be fed at 4.00pm each afternoon by the Zoo Staff).

If you’re a bird photographer, do you think your best bird shots were of your favourite bird species, or do you think the best shots were…… right time, right place and proximity to the bird?

9 Comments on “NANKEEN NIGHT HERON (Nycticorax caledonicus) – 8th June, 2013

  1. Very nice clear shots of a beautiful bird. I especially like the one of the bird looking half asleep in the sun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful shots, Vicki! I really like the colours of this heron. I think my best bird shots are with improved camera and lens, and time, place, and a big dose of good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Every time I take a series of not-so-good shots, I have to keep reminding myself that Nat. Geo. nature photographers sometimes spend weeks and months waiting for that perfect shot. I have to say that my Heron shots are generally way better than any other bird shots though.

      Liked by 1 person

