SUNRISE, SUNSET (and all the clouds in-between)

Sunrise in country Victoria
8.02 am DST (daylight savings time) 12th February 2012.

If you followed my nature blog for a few years, you’ll know that when I lived on the north-east side of Melbourne on a 3rd floor apartment for 20 months, I had a 180 degree uninterrupted view of the sky (over the rooftops of the warehouses and residences right over to the Good Shepherd Chapel church spire in The Convent, Abbotsford.

You’ll remember some of those brilliant sunsets (and occasionally sunrises, when the bird calls woke me early) which I made from my 3rd floor balcony.  I’ve deleted all old posts a few weeks ago as I was running out of media room on this blog.

I’ve decided to open another blog and repeat those 250+ images now that I have them all in the one photo folder (l finished cataloging them last night).

Sunset 10th August 2015 – 7:34:17pm

I think to upload one a week might be enough to share, without overloading follower’s readers or email inbox, or maybe even less?  Or maybe I’ll post 5 days in a row to start the blog off to spark some interest in following/sharing my photography 🙂

Hopefully by the time I get to the last image in this current archive folder, I will have made more sunset and cloud images (perhaps not so much sunrise – as I don’t get up early enough these days – the birds are not as vocal in my suburb of Maribyrnong at sunrise). Here’s a sampling of what you’ll see if you would like to follow that new blog.  I haven’t set it up yet as I wanted to find a free WordPress template where the image completely fills the screen.  Might take me a couple of days to go through the WordPress theme options.  The headline will be the time, date and year etc. and I probably won’t write any words within the post.  Being a visual person myself, I like looking at photo posts which are quick to view.

I’ll have to find a better location to make  future sunset images though, as my current apartment building is built into a steep hillside and I can’t see as much (despite facing west where the sun sets).  Maybe I just need to walk up the 100 feet of the steep hillside to the main road?

There won’t be any exotic locations of course, as I don’t travel or have a car and am limited in getting around via public transport these days and rarely go far at night.   Most of these images are un-edited and the sky REALLY is that amazing colour.  Some nights are completely clear and there is nothing interesting to share.

Occasionally the images will just be of clouds or approaching storms (for a bit of variety).

Last night…….not much, but here it is….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “SUNRISE, SUNSET (and all the clouds in-between)

    1. Thanks Otto.

      The new blog is merely a collection of the 250 odd sunsets and cloud images I’ve collected in my archives, Otto. I finished filing these in my new folder on Sunday night and I thought the astonishing range of colours and cloud patterns might make for an interesting blog subject. Some are good photos, some are not. But the range of colours in our night sky is really amazing when you see the photos next to each other. If I set it up to show 20 images on the one page, you’ll see the difference through the seasons.

      Hopefully, when I’ve shared the last image in the current folder, I will had had the opportunity to take some more. My current home is not really near to my old Beach or Botanic Garden areas where one see great sunset colour as the sun goes down. I’ll have to do some more exploring via public transport on this west side of Melbourne.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.