FEELING A LITTLE BLUE?

The glory of gardening: hands in the dirt, head in the sun, heart with nature. To nurture a garden is to feed not just on the body, but the soul.

Alfred Austin

11 Comments on “FEELING A LITTLE BLUE?

    • Some have beautiful perfumes too. I could always smell the Peruvian (or Andean) Sage bush about 15-20 feet away. It’s intoxicating.
      The Rosemary Dampiera is much more vivid in colour and has dozens of flowers (compared to the ordinary Rosemary – Rosmarinus officinalis that one uses in cooking). It’s a prostrate variety that is very striking and after you first see it, you never forget it.

      Like

    • I’m choosing images from my archives to cheer up those folk waiting for Spring on the other side of the world.

      Like

  1. Totally awesome! Many of these are the color of blue I struggle to explain to people when they ask my favorite color. How do you explain Lady’s Mantle, Blue butterfly Bush, and Borage? lol Lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Cat. I think some of those colours are more purple than blue, but I’ve included them all in the ‘blue’ category. Let’s face it, how can one say something is as blue as the sky (with it’s multitudes of tone and intensity).

      Like

  2. This is such a lovely gallery! Some of the plants I recognize but many I don’t. I’m especially impressed with your photos of borage. I have some growing in my garden but have not been able to get an image of it that I’m happy with. I’m going to look through the gallery again. My eyes can’t get enough of the color!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Trisha.
      Glad to hear you enjoyed viewing these ‘blue’ flowers. Actually some are pink, mauve or purple, but that’s still in the cool colour tonings.

      I agree with you. Borage is extremely hard to photograph and it’s flowers and stems can get very busy. Try photographing it when it’s mainly in bud form and just one or two flowers have opened. More like the first image. A young plant only a few inches high is good too. I think this applies to many flower shots. First week of Spring or whenever that particular plant first flowers during the year.

      Like

      • You did a great job with the borage. I think you’re right about the buds. I tried getting really close to the open flowers and it just didn’t work well. I’ll try for the buds next time and see what happens.

        Liked by 1 person

